

NSW Racehorse Owners Association Limited ABN 18 000 498 859 GPO Box 1506 Sydney NSW 2001 Telephone 02 9299 4299 www.nswroa.com.au Email nswroa1@ozemail.com.au

For Immediate Release Thursday, 16 August 2018

WINX TAKES THE CROWN AT NSWROA 2018 RACING'S NIGHT OF CHAMPIONS

Before a large crowd in the Royal Randwick Ballroom of the Australian Turf Club, Winx was named the TAB NSW Champion Horse of the Year at the NSW Racehorse Owners Association's (NSWROA) 2018 Racing's Night of Champions.

Co-Major Sponsor Racing NSW also presented their annual awards on the night with Chris Waller once again taking out the coveted Bart Cummings Medal.

This year the NSWROA Committee acknowledged the wonderful service to the industry of Noel Bracks by presenting his family with the NSWROA Industry Recognition Award. The audience rose as one to acknowledge Noel's son Patrick as he took to the stage to posthumously accept the award on his father's behalf. Noel sadly passed away in late July.

We saw the "very best" in the racing world in contention for all the awards at this gala event in aid of the Prince of Wales Hospital Foundation which was televised live on Sky Thoroughbred Central.

Harrison Craig delighted the crowd with his feature performance on the night.

The award winners for the 2017/18 season were:

Award	Winners
TAB NSW CHAMPION HORSE OF THE YEAR	Winx
NSW 2 YEAR OLD OF THE YEAR	Estijaab
Proudly sponsored by the Australian Turf Club	
NSW 3 YEAR OLD OF THE YEAR	Trapeze Artist
Proudly sponsored by International Animal Health Products	
NSW SPRINTER OF THE YEAR	Redzel
Proudly sponsored by the Australian Turf Club	
NSW MILER OF THE YEAR	Happy Clapper
Proudly sponsored by Wild Oaks	
NSW MIDDLE DISTANCE HORSE OF THE YEAR	Winx
Proudly sponsored by New Zealand Bloodstock	
NSW STAYER OF THE YEAR	Who Shot Thebarman (NZ)
Proudly sponsored by Emirates	
QUEEN OF THE AUTUMN	Prompt Response
Proudly sponsored by Inglis	
NSWROA INDUSTRY RECOGNITION AWARD	Noel Bracks
NSW COUNTRY CHAMPION HORSE OF THE YEAR	The Monstar
Proudly sponsored by Sky Thoroughbred Central	
NSW PROVINCIAL CHAMPION HORSE OF THE YEAR	In Her Time
Proudly sponsored by Sky Thoroughbred Central	

As well as the Bart Cummings Medal, Chris Waller also picked up the T J Smith Award for the Sydney Premiership Trainer. Other awards presented included the George Moore Award (Brenton Avdulla), the Theo Green Award (Rachel King), BOBS Horse of the Year (Epidemic), NSW Racing Writers' Personality of the Year (Pat Webster) and the Sydney Strapper of the Year (Lindy Wharekura).

NSWROA President, Mr Ray McDowell said "on behalf of the Prince of Wales Hospital Foundation and NSWROA, I would like to thank everyone for helping us "celebrate the best" of the NSW thoroughbred industry. My thanks again to our wonderful sponsors, congratulations to all winners and I look forward to seeing you all again next year."

For more information, visit the NSWROA website at www.nswroa.com.au.

ENDS

Media Contact: Ray McDowell, President, NSWROA Email: nswroa1@ozemail.com.au